Adjusting to the new me

image It has officially been one week since I had my surgery on July 30, 2014. My starting weight when I went to the hospital was 311 pounds. When I got back home after my surgery I weigh 314 pounds. I wasn’t in denial, I knew my body had been through a major change and I was full of toxic fumes that could not find the correct exits doors because my muscles were not cooperating at the time.

My current weight is 295 pounds. WOW!! I can’t remember the last time I even weighing in my 200s. I am just amazed that I have lost 19 pounds in one week. Now don’t get it twisted I walked my butt off trying to get that gas to find the right doors. But nevertheless the weight is falling on fairly quickly. Let’s hope it continue.

I am also averaging around 80 grams of proteins and around 50 ounces of water the last couple days. Now remember I am on medical leave and is not set to return to the office until Sept 2, 2014 so I have the time to get all the fluids in. I am having problems with not gulping….I mean on average day before the surgery I was drinking over 80 ounces of water. Trying to control my gulping and changing to sipping is hard. I am also having problems with nausea, I am so glad the doctor gave me two medicines for that.

My drain was removed today also. That little balloon was really trying my patience. When the doctor cut the thread and had me to count to 30 out aloud. I could feel him pulling it out but it did not hurt whatsoever. I am going to post a picture of the drain so you can see how it looks. If you have a tender stomach you may not want to see this picture. You have a drain that is connected to the larger part of your stomach that was bypassed. It will come out of your side and will drain fluids. This helps the doctor to detect if there is a leak from any of the incisions. The bandages had to be changed daily and my husband and kids would act as if they were dying when they changed it.

image

I was also taken off of one of my medicines for my high blood pressure today because I let the doctor know I hadn’t taken my medicines this morning to make sure I did not have to make a restroom stop on the way to my doctor appointment. He was amazed because it was only 117 over 72 so he took me off one of the medicine.

The six spots where they did my surgery laparoscopic itches likes crazy but there is no pain. This really amazes me because I thought I would be hurting where the incisions are located.

Mentally I am adjusting to everything because everything is control by your mouth. You can’t over indulge or just any eat any and everything anymore. Your stomach is master of that domain now. I am currently in the pureed stage, where everything has to be purred and liquified before I eat it. Then I am limited on what I can eat. I am happy about introducing other foods into my diet. But currently at this time I am to get my proteins from my protein shakes and can eat 6 small meals of a very limited variety of food.
As I travel down this road there is no going back. I can’t just change my mind and say I want my old stomach back. I have to suck it up and do what I have to do make sure that I stay healthy and that I take all my vitamins.

16 thoughts on “Adjusting to the new me

  1. From one journey to another! Last year was about getting to this point. This years journey will be about all of the things that you wanted to attain. These are the first steps to a better life. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your surgery, it sounds as though you are recovering really well and have plenty of love around you.
    I wanted to thank you for being so open about your drain. I’m 14 days from surgery and the drain is one of the things which makes me most nervous, hearing your experience, and seeing your wound has helped to make it less of an “unknown” to be feared and has helped me enormously, even just in the few minutes it’s taken to read.

    My best to you and your family, I look forward to following your journey 🙂

  3. It’s a full time job taking take of your self at this point….I started back to work yesterday….physically I feel great…but getting in all the water, protein, vitamins and exercise is a bit challenging while trying to get some actual work done too…I have not done horrible…but could definitely do a little better.

Leave a Reply

