I am officially 25 pounds lighter!!

25_pounds_lighter_buttons-

I am overjoyed, ecstatic, jubilant, excited, nervous, happy and dancing around like a kid in a toy store with unlimited supplies of toys.

I started this Opti-fast diet about 3 weeks ago and I am happy to say I have dropped 11 pounds. Since I started at this new doctor office in April I have dropped 25 pounds altogether.

However, I do have to admit that I have dreams of chocolate chip cookies and McDonald’s French fries floating as clouds in the skies. I grabbed my imaginary bat and swat each of the suckers out of the sky. This dang diet has me fighting urges left and right…but your girl is like a boxer I go out kicking and fighting like a champ. I wake up chanting Muhammad Ali famous quote.  “Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee.  My mouth can’t eat what my eyes can’t see.”   Lol, I just changed it around to fit me.

One thing that I have to admit is that even though I complained about going to this whole other gastric bypass doctor office and starting over (read my earlier post   https://tracysmanning.wordpress.com/2014/03/30/my-set-back-will-be-a-set-up-for-my-come-back/). I have to admit that this was the best decision I have ever made. Dr. Scott and his team really look out for the client and make sure that you are well prepared for any and everything that pertains to weight loss surgery.

The first preparation class discussed Phase 1 which includes the full liquid diet after the surgery. I learned several things. One thing that really surprise me was the information about rinsing your mouth with Listerine 2-3 times a daily for 2 weeks because you could develop thrush. Second no straws, gum, sports bottles with a sport caps or sip cups because you can fill your small pouch with air and which can cause it to rupture.

Every week we go over different things that we will have to know while in the hospital and after we are released from the hospital. I am absorbing a lot and keeping a note-book of everything. I am looking forward to losing these pounds and strutting my stuff.

 

8 thoughts on “I am officially 25 pounds lighter!!

  1. You doing great, those pre op classes are a great resource…I went into this feeling totally prepared…I’m 17 days post op…and doing good…I’m not going to lie…there were a few days early one where I thought what have I done to myself….but it does get better everyday. I’ve decided to stay away from the online groups…every Dr and every procedure differs in how they progress you through the food stages…people get pretty hostile about stuff there…so much for support…..anyways didn’t mean to get into all that….you are doing great keep it up….and follow Dr’s orders.

    • Kim I have also notice on my Facebook wls pages how they attacks someone if their opinion is not the same. How much have you lost? Keep up the good work.

      • 21 lbs, either before or after my next Dr appt there is a support group that I’m going too….then there is a person trying to start a support group close by…and someone else responded about ongoing support groups even closer (I live in the Dallas Ft Worth Metroplex…so we are spread out all over)…anyway I’m hoping people are nicer in person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

