My set back will be a set up for my come back

Image

One thing I have learned on this journey to have my weight loss surgery is to expect for it to be bumps in the road.  Sometimes these bumps can throw you off your path and make you just want to give up.   With that being said…I hit a major bump…this wasn’t just any kind of bump like the last one where I had to do 3 more session with the nutritionist.  

This bump requires that I change physician and hospital.  My spouse’s employer has their own requirements that have to be followed for the insurance.  First there are only a few hospitals and weight loss doctors in the network that have the Center of Excellence for United Healthcare.  My current doctor and hospital does have the Center of Excellence, just not the additional one with United Healthcare.  

Because of these requirements and even though my doctor is in my network; I will be required to travel an hour outside of my town for the new doctor.   The hospital where I will eventually have surgery is also located about 1 hour and 30 minutes away.   Because the surgery is an elective there is not a GAP exception. Can you say a smack in the face?  

Nevertheless I did talk to the new office surgery scheduler and as soon as I explained the reason for the change because of my spouse’s insurance she knew exactly what I was talking about.  The surgery scheduler has emailed me on several occasions and has given me all kind of information about their requirements.  The only other thing I will have to do is pay an extra hundred dollars and meet with the doctor, therapist and nutritionist once.  She informed me that the surgery will be in two more months. My appointment is coming up this week with the new doctor and I have a list of questions I will be asking him.  

What really pisses me off is that I called United Healthcare and asked all kind of questions and they never informed me about Center of Excellence for United Health care requirement. If I knew this I would have went to the correct doctor from the jumpstart. There is no reason to cry over spilled milk, because it is done and there is nothing I can do about it beside quit and not have the surgery which is not an option. 

Even though this is a setback I can pick myself up, brush myself off, and start again. I will not let this set back make me quit! My set back will be a set up for my come back! Therefore my come back will propel me toward my goal, which is to get my weight under control and healthy. 

On a good note I have lost an extra six pound this month.

Love Peace and Blessing

Mrs. Tracy

7 thoughts on “My set back will be a set up for my come back

  1. Just keep pushing forward! Sometimes you have to look at the big picture so that the little details don’t matter so much. Good luck, I’m rooting for you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. God has a plan!!! He is working it out for your good!! You don’t know what he saw and what was coming where you was! Tell God thank you, and let’s keep it moving!!! Through Christ all things are possible!!! Your doing it!!! Keep chipping at it!!! A drop of water can cut rock in time ! So can we! Stay focused! I love you so much! Your my S-hero! Sister

  3. Two more months is fine – you’ve come so far already. I know that it’s frustrating to deal with the all of the administrative red tape, but when you’ve completed it all, you’ll look back and smile. It’s almost here!

  4. Pingback: I am officially 25 pounds lighter!! | Tracy's journey to weight loss surgery

Leave a Reply

