Dealing with disappointments and setbacks!

Image

 I was really disappointed today and had to sit for a spell to get my nerves in check.   The doctor’s surgery scheduler calls me today to discuss possible dates that I may have the surgery.   After we came up with two possible dates which were March 31 or April 22 she gave me a phone number to United Healthcare where I have to register for the barbaric surgery.  Well I made the call and was informed very sternly that I need a 6 month monitor diet plan before the surgery.   Now here’s my issues and why I am a little pissed, ticked, frizzled, and mad.  I call the insurance company as soon as I found out that the weight loss surgery was available and asked every question that pertains to being approved for surgery.   I was told that I would only have to show proof of 5 years of obesity from my primary doctor for United Healthcare and meet with an approved therapist.   I even asked and was told no about the 6 month diet requirements.

Now today I was informed that there is a requirement for the 6 month monitor diet and what Untied Healthcare requires could be different from what my spouse employer also requires.   WOW!! Knocked me right off of my feet.

I quickly called the surgery scheduler and informed her of what they said.   She quietly calmed me down and explained that I already had 4 months of supervised diet because I was going twice monthly and it went over into the fourth month.   I would have to meet with the nutritionist this month and around the first of next month and then she can submitted for approval.   I am scheduled to have the endoscopy tomorrow morning, so that process will be out-of-the-way.  Nevertheless I did expect some hiccups and this is one of the hiccups.  Nevertheless the April date is still very possible after the two week liquid diet.   I am going to stay focus and keep my eyes on the prize, getting my weight under control no matter what distractions or problems that come my way.

Stay Blessed!!!

Peace, Love and Happiness

Mrs. Tracy

20 thoughts on “Dealing with disappointments and setbacks!

  1. I’m really glad that this story had a happy ending and that the April date is still possible for you. I wish you the very best with it all and look forward to seeing how you get on.

  2. I understand the frustration, my insurance added the six month plan half way through my process, so I was delayed in getting my surgery. It is worth the wait. Good luck and I hope your April date works out.

Leave a Reply

