Fast Food Restaurants are my enemies.

 Some mornings I just don’t have time to cook breakfast.   So I am usually trying to figure out what can I eat.  One of the hardest things is trying to find healthy choices at the local restaurants.  McDonald’s has some of the healthiest choices in this area.

One of the things I eat is the Egg White Delight McMuffin with no cheese:                    

200 Calories  15g Protein  3.5g Fat (5%) 28g Carbs (9%)  570mg Sodium (24%)

I usually get a Parfait and it is also high in carbs;

150  Calories  4g Protein   2g Fat (3%) 30g Carbs (10%) 70mg Sodium (3%)

By the time I finish my little meal, I have consume 350 calories, 19 grams of protein, 58 grams of carbs, 640 grams of sodium.  WOW!!  Now 350 calories is not to high.  But 58 grams of carbs and 640 grams of sodium is.  Especially for my first meal of the day.

 My nutritionist’s and members in my therapist group have had this discussion and McDonald’s or any fast food restaurant are our enemies. These restaurants are one of the things that increased my weight gain.  Shoot I am the reason McDonald sales are down. 

Nevertheless, I believe that we need to be aware of what we can eat when situations like this arise and they will.  I have training away from my office, vacations, etc. By knowing what food items that I can eat will help me to support a healthy diet. Preparation is a must and we have to be ready for any situation to support a healthy life change. 

15 thoughts on “Fast Food Restaurants are my enemies.

  1. Ugh! Fast food – I grabbed Jack in the box 99 cents for 2 tacos (the little ones…) yesterday – cost me 250 calories – so not worth it! I do typically always travel with a 20 oz plastic shaker and protein shakes as a back-up – easy to carry and easy to fix in a pinch. Silly me … forgot it yesterday!

    You are so right on, Tracy! And an excellent habit to make a personal law … PREPARE AHEAD!

    • I try to fix my stuff the night before but a lot of times I am doing it in the morning. I have been boiling two eggs lately and drinking a protein shake every morning. This usually takes the least amount of time.

  2. I’m fat as hell and I probably eaten fast food less than 10 times in my entire life. LOL But it was definitely super good and super greasy every time I did & Yep that definitely means enemy

      • Maybe not fast foods…but you would still have to watch what they put in your burrito, bowl, taco or salad. Sour cream for 2oz has 120 calories. Shoot a soft flour has 290 calories with 44 carbs. Now remember you have not added the rest of the items such as your meat, cheese, beans and vegetables. So if you are going there I would go to their website and make your healthy choice before you go. Every restaurant has a website with their nutrition values on there. There is also an app, which I have.

    • Oh my I really like Panera Bread!!! I am so glad there is not one in my town. But I do know that they have a power menu that are more healthy. I like their breakfast power with ham on grain without the ……..but that bad boy had 31 grams of carbs. Take one piece of the bread off and you will cut the carbs in half…because bread has all the carbs. The power breakfast egg bowl with steak is good also….230 calories…I take the avocado off. But their bagels are awesome and I can’t even have any of those.

  3. Fast food is not going to have a place in your eating post-op…there isn’t enough protein in any fast food, really, for it to be worth your while. Focus on getting your protein first, and adopt this behavior now so that by the time you have surgery, it will be second nature to you.

    • I know this is so true. But I try to look at everything from every angle. There will be times when for whatever reason that I need to be prepare for when I don’t have my protein shake or whatever.

Leave a Reply

