Why do you want to have the Gastric Bypass?

I have been asked “why do you want to have the Gastric Bypass?”  “Why not just exercise and just watch what you eat?”  Now I know I am not the only one who has been asked this question?  Then the next thing that will roll out the individual’s mouth is…..”I know so and so die from that surgery.”   I don’t know about anybody else but the last dang thing I want to hear about is somebody dying before I have any surgery.

As I stand there I have to debate whether to reveal the truth or not.  See I have try every diets that has been monitor by a doctor.  I tried the HCG diets, low carbs and high protein diets, cabbage diets, soups diets and I may lose 10, 20, 40, 60 pounds only to gain that and more back.  Or maybe I should tell them about my high blood pressure, diabetes, GERD, orthopedic problems, sleep apnea, and the lists goes on and on.  But I shouldn’t have to do.  People should understand that nobody; I mean nobody wants to be cut on for any reason.  “Well girl, (I say in my Kevin Hart voice) I just want to go lie on that table and let those suckers cut and dice and pull and pluck and stick a organ in my ear.  I would love that.”   (Then I give them my famous blank stare)

NO here is the real reason I am going to have this surgery…..…I want to be able to go any restaurant to eat my healthy meal and be able to fit into any booth and not have to get a table.

I want to be able to sit in any chair in a office, church, college, auditorium or roll coaster.  Without having to try and figure out if my big butt, big stomach, thick thighs and wide back will let me fit in the chair.

I want to go sit in any chair without having to give it the strength test. The strength test you say, what in the world is this heifer talking about.  YOU know what the strength test is (Stretching my eyes really wide). The strength test is where you push down and shake the chair to make sure it is sturdy enough to hold all of your weight, without breaking and dropping you on the floor.  Embarrassing the holy crap out of you in the public eye, trust and believe me, I know exactly how this feels.

See most people talk about the simple stuff, like going in any clothing store and being able to shop.  Yea I want that to…but there  are so many  more important things that I would like to.  I believe the most important things is the capability to put on my own stocking and tie my own shoes.

I also want to be able to turn my neck all the way without having my extra weight on my chin, and shoulders keeping me from looking back to make sure I am not pulling out in front a car.

I want to be able to sleep without having to fight with my CPAP every night because it is leaking air around my nose, or my hose done went renegade and is trying to choke me in my sleep.   These are a few of my wants.   I could go on and on but I do believe you get the picture.

This surgery is not something I just want just because I want to wear a bathing suit and strut myself around the beach and not have worry about everybody turning their head in disgust.    This surgery is a tool that will help me reach a goal that I thought would be forever unobtainable. Being healthy and staying healthy.

9 thoughts on “Why do you want to have the Gastric Bypass?

  1. And for the opportunity to go off of meds treating your obesity-related co-morbidities – and to enjoy a longer, healthier life … the list goes on and on.

    Don’t let the naysayers get you down, Tracy! Remember there are hundreds of thousands of WLS procedures done annually just in this country. The mortality rate is less than one percent – and not necessarily from the procedure but from complications that accompany any invasive surgery.

    MOST serious complications people find themselves in are due to not properly and faithfully following the “rules” for keeping our surgically altered bodies healthy – vitamin supplements, proteins, water ….. it is a lifelong commitment, yes, but if we use our tools to once and for all to no longer be morbidly obese, the sacrifices are negligible.

    We do this for OURSELVES – for our health – for our families and loved ones. And those of us on THE LOSERS BENCH understand the heartache of lifetimes of obesity.

  2. Tracy…Thanks for following my blog! I look forward to reading about your journey. And girl…you don’t have to explain your reasons to anyone! You want to live. That’s all you need to know. It’s a courageous choice and I applaud you!

Leave a Reply

