How it all began….

Let me start off by saying I am scare as heck about having the Gastric Bypass surgery and the further I get into all the requirements  my fear’s increase.   But I have strong faith in my lord and Savior and I know he will take care of me.

The question that I constantly ask myself is how I let myself get this big.  When I graduated from high school twenty-four years ago I was half of what I weigh now.  But even back then I thought I was fat, my weight always center around 149 to 160 and I wore a size 14 in pants.  I was also very active in my younger days.

Nowadays I will start a diet and start losing a significant amount of weight and then just start to plateau and fall right back off the wagon.  The most I have ever lost was 50 pounds about three years ago.  I was trying the HCG diet out through a weight loss clinic and going to the YMCA regularly.  Then I started to have medical issues with my hips during this time and it was really painfully to exercise and I stop going.  But now I am able to reflect back at that time and I can see where the exercising was helping me out a lot with mobility and the pain and arthritis was no were near what it is now.    There are some days it takes everything in me just to get up out of the bed.  But shoot it hurts to even lie in my bed at times.  Now my back is hurting a lot and I need to invest in a really good mattress to help me rest well at night.  It doesn’t help that I have sleep apnea and I have to sleep with my Cpap machine every night.

I had my first appointment for the weight loss seminar on October 16th, 2013 at 6:15 at Spartanburg Regional Hospital in Spartanburg SC with Dr. Ross. Now this wasn’t my first time attending a seminar I did back in 2007 and 2011.  In 2007 I had Medicaid and they would have paid for it if I would have gone through with the program, but I never follow through for several different reasons.  In 2011 our state was offering a pilot program were they pick a certain number of people throughout the state to have to the gastric bypass. The requirements were really tough and I didn’t even try because there were only two spots open for our area.  I had my first appt with Dr. Ross October 31, 2013 and it was really thorough and he answers all of my questions that were not answer during the seminar.

I will be posting about this journey and I hope you will join me and help me along the way. Any advice is greatly welcome.  Until the next time.

Peace, Love and Happiness

Tracy

8 thoughts on “How it all began….

  1. Hi Tracy!! I think its awesome that you too are on this journey. It may not be easy the entire time, and some level of ‘scared’ is completely normal, but I firmly believe that the benefits will be worth it! Congrats and I am looking forward to reading your journey!

    -Nikki

    • Thanks Nikki,
      Scared is not the word, I am basically terrified and I am really second guessing myself. I am following several blogs and groups on facebook and they don’t cut any corners. They are talking about their experiences and what happen when they had the surgery. I know every experience is different. BUT, I hate getting cut on. Nevertheless I know I need this to be able to live a longer,healthy life. My husband is my backbone and he is helping me a lot. Thanks for reading and I will keep posting. I like your also and will be reading your also.

  2. You are taking the first scary steps to reclaiming your health. When I was in your shoes, I was terrified too. I had never had any kind of surgery before, and was scared I would not wake up from the surgery. I was more terrified of what would happen if I didn’t do it, though. By the time the day of my surgery arrived in July, I was calm and at peace with my decision. After my surgeon talked with me before they took me into the OR, I was even more at peace with my choice to have surgery (and not because the anesthesiologist shot me up full of the good stuff!).

    The benefits of having WLS definitely outweigh staying obese. Every week, there is something new I find that I see or that I can do that I couldn’t do when I weighed over 400 pounds. Trust me, this has been worth it! I hope you find that it is worth it for you too. 🙂

    • Thanks this is the type of support I need to make it. I do believe I can be successful…if I can get over my fears about the surgery. I am looking forward to reading everyone blogs so I can learn as much as possible.

  3. Tracy-congrats on taking control of your health – before it controls you. Glad you are following my blog too. Hope we can encourage and educate each other.

    I’m a believer as well and I believe that God never intended for our bodies to run optimally on the fast and processed foods we all eat.

    Stay the course. You can do it.

    Mark

  4. Tracy – your journey is one that millions of us have walked! One of the most important keys to success (among many) is support! If you are not already aware of them, there is an amazing on-line support organization called the Weight Loss Surgery Foundation of America – or WLSFA – check them out on Facebook! A great source of information and support! The ladies I refer to in my blog post (thank you so much for following me …) are both members of WLSFA – that is how I met them!

    As you continue on your journey, you WILL find those sugar-free treats that will satiate that need – but the biggest treats you will find are what we in the WLS world call ‘NSV”s … NON-SCALE VICTORYS …. those little miracles that will start occurring with regularity as you lose weight post-operatively – like trying on that special pair of jeans you refused to get rid of that you haven’t gotten into for years only to find they are too big! … or that suddenly you can fit into that chair … or how much easier it is for you to get out of bed … or you run into someone you haven’t seen in a long time and they don’t recognize you … these little moments become your sugar high! lol!

    Enjoy your journey, Ms. Tracy! Do everything your surgeon and doctor tell you to do – and more. It works if you work it!

Leave a Reply

